Webinar: Avoiding Battery Explosions and Fires, By Better Design and Right Testing

Posted on 28/04/2015

Modern batteries (ex. Li-ion) contain hazardous chemicals and they heat up during use: this combination always has the potential to cause fires and explosions. This presentation will focus on improving the understanding of how these incidents occur, what can be done to avoid them, and how the risk can be minimized during early stage design.

The solution lies in knowledge of the heat generation rate during normal use, and information about safe boundaries such as temperature, discharge rate and overcharge, in realistic situations that represent actual conditions of use. Data from commercial batteries of different types, including videos of batteries undergoing thermal runaway will be used to illustrate these points.

This webinar will focus on following key points:

-Why battery fires and explosions occur
-How to design safer batteries though understanding of heat generation
-How better thermal management systems can be designed
-Video evidence of batteries under explosive conditions
-Laboratory instruments suitable for testing and data generation

Presenter
Dr. Jasbir Singh &ndash Managing Director at Hazard Evaluation Laboratory

Jasbir is a chemical engineer specializing in thermal hazards and calorimetry, traditionally for the chemical industry but now increasingly involved in battery safety, especially Li-ion EV and related types.

A graduate of Imperial College (London), where he undertook PhD into combustion and explosions, his experience includes many years in process design for the chemical and petrochemical industries. He is currently developing test methods and instruments for use in design of battery thermal management systems.

Price

$99.00 USD per registrant

Further details

Register Here

Location: Wednesday, July 22, 2015 | 10:00 a.m. EDT USA / 4:00 p.m. CET Europe / 10:00 p.m. China

Duration 1 hour

ShareThis